by Richard Lipman M.D.
7241 SW 63 ave
Miami,Fl 33143
(305) 670 3259

richardlipman2742@gmail.com 

Book Reviews of Dr Lipman's Qsymia E-Book from Amazon.com


.http://www.amazon.com/Qsymia-Plan-Weight-Loss-Medication-ebook/product-reviews/B00A909KNE/ref=cm_cr_pr_btm_link_3?ie=UTF8&pageNumber=3&showViewpoints=0&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending




41 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia the med, January 18, 2013
By
carol uebelacker - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I am writing this review in support of the medication Qsymia.

I am a physician who has used this med for about 7 years for hundreds of patients (the 2 ingredients are generic so are available as such). I followed the trials of Qnexa(former name of Qsymia) closely, to use similar doses, as did many other weight loss clinics in the US. My results were that most patients had very successful weight losses of from 20 to 100 lbs.
But there is more, and this is the reason I feel so strongly in support of this med:
The patients became healthier by several clinical parameters. The first thing I would observe would be blood pressure reduction- within a week of starting the meds, ie before much weight loss. Within a month,I saw much improved cholesterol panels, reductions in C reactive protein, and reduction in fasting glucose levels. If a diabetic, HgBA1C when tested at the 3rd month would be decreased to a much lower level, many times in normal range.
Pts often reported improved sleep immediately, which I attributed to less nocturnal blood sugar fluctuations. Some reported that their snoring was completely resolved, before they lost any significant weight. Pts reported feeling and looking younger in that their muscle shapes changed to a more youthful appearance. Very few were exercisers.
I looked for 20 years for a med like this for my patients; so many would sit in front of me in tears as they had tried everything. They were different than the "thin" people who could eat everything.
I was, too.
I lost 30 lbs and still have kept it off.
A Family Practice Doc with a Weight Loss Clinic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (14


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia as an FDA approved aid to weight loss.., January 1, 2013
By
Anne - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I just bought this book and only skimmed through it so far, but have been following Qsymia's development and recent FDA approval for over two years now. Dr Lipman's book seems very thorough and well written. It addresses the results of clinical trials and how different people fared with different doses. It also gives many guidelines which you can check out yourselves by looking at the ToC.
My initial reaction to the book, which I have not read thoroughly yet (just bought it a few hours ago), is that at times, when he is talking about foods to avoid and how to set meal plans, he doesn't remind people enough that IN THIS CASE Qsymia will HELP THEM SUCCEED with these restrictions or changes that they have heard a 100 times before and failed with. I'd probably have mentioned that every 3rd sentence or so, to drill it home, because it can be very discouraging to read otherwise.

As well, he does throw in some very controversial foods as OK, and others as not OK, that people who have been dieting for a long time might question, like his opinion on diet soft drinks, wheat bread and nuts.

I am a believer of low carb, so my opinion may be a little slanted. This will probably be an issue for all people who believe in one diet or another. He appears to keep a middle road here, and that can either keep everyone happy or everyone a little unhappy. But that said, he does emphasis moderation and that really is the key. Hey, I wouldn't mind eating a slice of wheat bread once in a while if I felt I could! When the emphasis is on Qsymia helping people bring back some balance in their eating habits, I think the book is a terrific success.
I highly recommend everyone that has serious weight loss issues to read this book. Qsymia, as a medical aid for weight loss, is NOT snake oil. It is a real FDA approved medication that has gone through years of rigorous clinical trials. This book will explain everything you need to know about it, and more. You won't be disappointed. A LOT of research when into this book. Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment






By 
Patrick Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I am an MD and all I can say about Qsymia is that I would never prescribe it for any woman in the child bearing ages. It's combination includes topiramate which can cause cleft palate defects by teratogenic effects in early pregnancy. Qysmia is a known teratogen and carries a black box warning by the FDA for use in any pregnancy.

I have tried lorcaserin (Belviq) personally and I can attest to Belviq's favorable effects, both in effectiveness on appetite suppression and side effect profile; I actually felt very pleasant taking Belviq. I suggest anyone interested in pharmacologics for weight loss do some research on Belviq and try it out. Belviq has no black box warnings from the FDA and zero major side complications in pre FDA testing on over 8000 patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia is amazing, November 5, 2013
By 
smasty "Sue" (Colorado) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I bought the book when I went on Qsymia. My review is mainly about Qsymia the drug. I think the drug is just wonderful. I'm a 6.0" female, I lost 40 pounds in about 5 months--I'm now well within the healthy weight range and am keeping the weight off just fine. Here's the deal though, I found the 2nd dose (the first step up) too high (insomnia, tingly hands), so (with the approval of my doctor) I only took it every other day (at every other day, zero side effects). You know what that means....the $150 drug lasted twice as long. I thought it worked just fine every other day. I had to work at it just a little more, but that was fine with me. Qsymia makes you feel so normal around food...it's what life is SUPPOSED to be like! One bite of ice cream...no problem. Pass on the cookie, chips, whatever, no problem...no feeling of deprivation. It made weight loss so easy, when nothing else worked, I was almost embarrassed how easy it was. I almost felt like I just went to sleep one night, and woke up skinny the next morning. I know it's expensive, but it's worth it.
Re the book...there's some decent technical info in the book about two drugs and how they interact...good to know if you try to explain it to someone. Some people think you can just get the two generic drugs independently and put them together yourself, but as the book explains, it doesn't work that way. As far as diet/lifestyle advice in the book....it's the basics most of us already know.
I wanted to add a follow up that I'm really keeping the weight off for the first time ever. I think the big difference is that with Q you eat normal foods in much smaller portions. You don't need to remove any food (except alcohol). So you really learn a new lifestyle, not a temporary thing that won't last. With Q you can keep whatever you like in your diet and really learn how to manage it. You CAN learn moderation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, October 17, 2013
By 
Winn1357911 - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
This book, if you can call it that, is just a lot of fluff that is available for free elsewhere. If you want to know about Qsymia, go to their product website. The only thing that this "book" clarified is that if you take a diuretic and Qsymia, make sure that your doctor monitors your potassium levels. Diuretics leech potassium from some people and evidently this drug can have the same effect. The diet portion, which is 90% of the "book" is as others have reported, just common sense. Save your money. This "book" is WAY overpriced for what you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


3.0 out of 5 stars Just another doctor..., September 25, 2013
By 
John Baird - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
The information is correct and useful but there is a lot of fluff that is self-aggrandizement by tHe author. I would like to get that kind of information presented in a "just the facts, mam" attitude. Like so many doctors that want to leverage their personal station in life into even more money, he just couldn't resist the usual advertising format with him in the middle. Doctors have prescribed these two medications for simultaneous use for obese patients for many years. There is nothing new about the success of the combination of these two drugs and this guy did not discover or create Qysimia. The most useful presentation could have been that this medication protocol is now available in a clinical trial process that is available for prescription by the mainstream medical practioners without resorting to off label risks. Why do these guys need to be considered so special?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost blind from 2 pills!, August 20, 2013
By 
S. R. - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I took Qysemia for 2 days, felt great but my eyes were a bit fuzzy. I called my doctor who told me to come right in, then he immediately sent me to a specialist who did emergency surgery on both eyes. When I asked him why he did it so quickly (it was after hours and he had his staff stay) I was told if he waited until the morning I could have been blind in both eyes! I then spent a week in bed,taking several strong prescriptions and in a lot of pain, not knowing if I was going to need more surgery. I'd much prefer to be overweight than blind!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia weight loss medication, July 9, 2013
By 
T. Hampton "Buyanest" (NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Qsymia has been a wonderful medication for me and I have not experienced any side effects that are described by others. I began the medication upon hearing about it on the news as a newly released weight loss medication approved by the FDA in September of 2012. My BMI was over 32, and I was having pain and swelling in both feet and ankles longer than 18 months. My weight has slowly whittled down 2-3 pounds here and there, not all at once. However, eight months later on the 7.5 mg. level, I have lost 45 lbs and have changed my body for the better. My BMI is now 26, and I will continue on Qsymia for a time longer until it is under a BMI of 25. Unfortunately my feet and ankles are not any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (2)


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad purchase for the money, July 5, 2013
By 
Linda J. Rowland "lindao798" (Savannah, Ga) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I was very disappointed in this book. I expected more information regarding the recommended diet and got very little. The price was very expensive for what the book disclosed. Not a good buy at all. I cannot believe it was so highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you want to waste $15, buy this book, June 22, 2013
By 
mwjo (PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
This author is just padding his bank account with a "topical" book to coincide with Qsymia becoming available. Any diet advice he gives can be found in a thousand different places & mostly for free. If you want to learn about Qsymia, that info is readily available also. But you should know that Qsymia is nothing but a Pharma scheme to make more money off two generic drugs. Phentermine & topamax (topiramate) have been used by weight loss specialists for years -- they both have many side effects that make them intolerable to many people. I've tried phentermine & could not tolerate it -- it made me feel incredibly anxious, to where I felt a intense, frightening sense of doom. My daughter was prescribed Topamax for seizures (which is its real indication, also migraines)-- called Dopamax by many who've taken it,because it makes you "stupid" -- she couldn't study or concentrate on it & had to discontinue. But if you want to try it -- don't get ripped off in the process, with this book, or buying Qsymia for $200 month instead of the cheap generic equivalents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia didn't work for me, June 21, 2013
By 
Janae S Lunt - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I have used the actual qsymia product it is expensive after 4 months and minimal weight loss ( I have a lot to lose as in over 150) I was disappointed with a 5 lb loss... I lose much more on other plans ( think ww) at much less cost I've heard it was great at taking off the weight while I was seldom hungry and I do exercise the weight loss was less than stellar...disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


S. A "HDTV Obsessed" (NE US) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Mostly this ebook is about common sense dieting and had generalities that anyone with half a brain would know. Want to know about Qsymia? Visit the Vivus website. I've been taking it now for 17 days and have lost 13 pounds. I'm very pleased and most side effects have abated. I understand the further weight loss will be slower but this is a very helpful drug and is 1/2 the cost of Januvia the $300 per month diabetes med that I hope to have discontinued once my weight is at a normal level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (6)


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars site from the book, NEVER buy Qsymia, May 25, 2013
By 
John Stockwell - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Qysmia is a dubious product-- I would never use it. I find its advertising methods turned me off, raise red flags. Better to eat a healthy diet, or keep looking or a more reputable product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment (1)


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I developed Acute Closed Angle Glaucoma 10 days in..., May 9, 2013
By 
Chris Barnes - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
This is a very, scary product - I mean even their website says the don't really know how it works and what side effects are possible.

I was hesitant to take it but had a friend with similar health issues who wasn't suffering any of the side effects. Unfortunately, I developed a few... the from out of no where rage outbursts (I am a very calm person), the horrible taste in mouth, tingling in my feet... but most importantly and nearly traumatic and life changing... was the development of Acute Closed Angle Glaucoma while 10 days in on the starter dose... I almost went blind, I was a few hours from it. I had to have laser eye procedures to reduce the pressure in my eyes (55 in each) and now have permanent holes in my irises. My vision is not back to where it was and I am still under supervision. I had no previous glaucoma issues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia Helped me, May 9, 2013
By 
Ditto3 - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
After months of trying to lose, stuck in premenapausal and having a strong history of anxiety, diabetes, heart disease, sufferer of migraines my whole life , 47 and having joint soreness and loveing excercise. This drug has done nothing but move me forward from 220 to 200 in 3 months goal is 160. Headaches maybe 1 or 2 no migraines. I take Magnesium for the constipation, Deep Sleep for the sleep issues and I am back excerising focusing on making good changes on this journey. I wish insurance covered it. Just being patient and my Dr too just wants to see progress and changes and we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A small overpriced electronic pamphlet combining well known info with rephrased self help guru quotes., May 6, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Clarkston, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I pressed buy this morning thinking this was a real e-book, it certainly costs like a real book let alone a e-book.
It just contains the same old (if good) diet guidelines you could get anywhere now, mixed with a few phrases from Tony Robbins CDs where appropriate.
By using Qsymia as a catch phrase the author has sold a pamphlet as a book.

This is not to say the information is not good, it's very good, it's just that it told I already knew in a tiny package.
I was hoping for something new.
For $15 I expected something more to be brought to the table.

Tony might say getting the same information you heard before is not a waste because repetition is the mother of skill, but getting a rerun and finding your 5 lb package only contains 8 oz makes me unhappy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication, May 1, 2013
By 
John's Wife - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I bought this eBook because I have been taking this medication for about 16 weeks. I think the medication (Qsymia) is fantastic and is the first one recommended by my endrochronologist that allows me to easily lose weight, and in fact feel full like I did prior to turning 50 and acquiring pre-diabetes. One of the reasons that I bought the eBook is that I wanted to know what longer term users of the product were experiencing. The author claimed that although this information was not in the book, he would have this information on his web site as he gained experience with the drug, and by purchasing the book, the purchaser would be provided with a pass word that would enable access to updated information. While the password is there, I found I could not access this information, so I sent an email to the author. He answered the next day. Unfortuantely, he gave me information to access information for another eBook he had written which had diet plans. Interesting, but not what I wanted to know. I wrote back and explained that to him. However, he never replied. So, I have to assume that he never updated this information on his web site, and that this is a false claim. So, be aware, if you too are looking for this information for users that have been taking the drug for a longer period of time than what is quoted in the book, you will not be able to find it (as promised) on his web site. Otherwise, the eBook does provide more information than my Dr. was able to when the drug was prescribed (last fall).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (2)


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needed information about new protocol, May 1, 2013
By 
sharon olson (Los Angeles, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Provides basic information about the new combo to appetite control. Also, has simple formula for figuring how many carb grams and protein grams you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book is helpful: If only Rx providers would cooperate, April 11, 2013
By 
LRM100 (Chevy Chase, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Largely common-sense advice, targeted to the type of reduced appetite that results from the drug. That said, I'm interested to see what the posters here say about their experiences (and how many there actually are), with time. I suspect lots of these reviews will be about the drug and not the book. Regardless, it will not be many, because it's clear that the few Rx benefit providers that have 'approved' this med are exploiting its possible side effects to justify the most vigorous obstructions to filling scripts I've ever experienced. You'd better hope that your weight isn't truly endangering your health, because dealing with your drug benefit provider on this one is so difficult you may lose the will to live.

As a migraineur who has previously taken Topamax, I am familiar with its weight loss benefits (which are considerable and real) and, um, er, uh...let me see if I can remember...what's the word?--that's it! Drawbacks! I did have a seizure when I stopped it (Topamax) abruptly (over just a week--learn from my mistake, please). Still, when I read about Qsymia, I decided it was work the risk. Why?

It's simple, really. First: I have unfortunately gained enough weight to make me a candidate for it, and the doses are low enough of (Topamax and Phen), and the long drug taper that I haven't been too concerned. The 'Get Started' program the company (Vivus) is offering now was also incentive. No problems with the medication; it works beautifully. Second: Surprisingly, my migraines with aura are hugely reduced (another use--look into it)!

No, my only problem is the imaginative and brazen tactics used by insurers (in my case, Express Scripts) to retract prior authorization (familiarize yourself with that term--you'll need it if you try this med). Qsymia is terrifically helpful, but not at $150.00 a month (the retail cost). The drug is new, but the only patient posts one finds on the web today are about the brick wall of resistance encountered trying to get insurers to pay--and those are the companies that DO cover it (often listed as a 'standard benefit'). At this rate, it's kind of hard to imagine how the drug company (Vivus) will ever get this off the ground.

Your experience may be different here--I certainly wish you the best of luck. The plain truth is that you're likely to have fewer problems with the medication itself than the machinations to get your insurer to cover Qsymia. If you will pay full retail, terrific. But I won't, I can't, pay out of pocket. The $40.00 co-pay is already steep. And without further insurance coverage for Qsymia, Dr. Lipman's book is strictly academic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (2)


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting to try it, March 23, 2013
By 
ok - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
I have not tried this medication as of yet, but I have asked my doctor to prescribe it. I have taken Phentermine by itself and also as a stack with Topamax, the two together were successful for weight loss, but the side effects were vicious. I think the form of Topamax in this medication will work for me. This book is well written, simple, and this physician really seems to know his stuff. I can't wait to give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss, February 5, 2013
By 
D. Lawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
If you are researching Qsymia for weight loss, this guide is a must. It gave me the information I needed about Qsymia, but also practical information on food portions and what to do that would help Qsymia work better. I feel that even if I don't use Qsymia, the other information on portion control and what to eat and avoid eating will help me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Serious Plan For Those Serious About Weight Loss, December 5, 2012
By 
Bookish Gal 4vr "Bookish Gal 4vr" (Los Angeles,CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
Losing weight is often described as a battle, when it is actually a war. With the Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss you will be armed and ready with a revolutionary weight loss plan for the rest of your life.I can not review the drug Qsymia, but the food plan is simple and easy to remember. You almost think to yourself of course I should be eating this way, why haven't I all along. Easy to prepare foods and no ridiculous recipe book.

With this plan you will be able to:

1. Learn the cause of your weight gain.
2. Control your appetite.
3. Begin to make the proper food choices.

and most importantly...lose weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Successfully Losing Weight, December 4, 2012
By 
Comfort is a must (Miami) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
How often do you hear in the news of a new medication, wondering if it is going to work for you? When you look for additional information, it's either too scientific, talking about drug interactions, but not information geared to the lay person. This book is the answer you need. Dr. Lipman's book on Qsymia addresses the latest medication approved by the FDA for weight loss. In addition to providing information on the drug, he also provides guidance to determine if the drug is right for you. He discusses the side effects and the severity of them to help you make an informed decision on whether to proceed with the medication. This information should be easy to get from your own doctor, but often they don't have the time, or they are prejudiced towards weight loss medications. Dr. Lipman, an endocrinologist, is an expert in weight loss, with many years of experience helping people successfully lose weight. He is generous with sharing his knowledge to help you as well.

This book also provides information on understanding your weight gain, how to manage food choices, and a plan that includes foods that are part of our daily lives. No special foods to buy, no unrealistic eating plans, but suggestions to learn how to eat for the rest of your life. I started using Qysmia and found Dr. Lipman's plan very helpful. I knew what to expect with the medication and was successful in losing weight because I didn't feel hungry, nor did I think about food all the time. I have lost 35 pounds so far, and am continuing in my weight loss. I highly recommend this book from Dr. LIpman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are on Qsymia or are thinking about taking it - read this book first, it will really help you to make correct choices, November 29, 2012
By 
Oleg Medvedkov "How to Prevent Unicorns from ... (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)  
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
One thing I would like to mention first - the exact mechanism of appetite regulation is not yet fully known. However, and that is one of the reasons I like reading books written by professionals in their fields, Dr. Lipman does manage to put together a pretty nice list of things that regulate the feeling of hunger. The explanations are simple, designed for a layman, but not simplistic. To be honest, if you just stick to the first part of the book, you can probably have a good weight control plan without taking any medications.

That said, if you are reading this, you most likely have tried many ways to lose weight and haven't succeeded in keeping it off. I am not advocating you getting a prescription for Qsymia (more on that later). What I am saying is that if you are seriously overweight, perhaps fifty or even a hundred pounds over, do yourself a favor and start losing the excess fat right now! Otherwise, you might not live for too long. If drugs is what it takes, so be it. But only with precautions!

I, myself, is almost thirty pounds over. If I lose that, I could perhaps, see my six-pack again one day. Or, I could go on gaining weight and you'll see me rolling around Safeway, loading my cart with ice-cream :P. A frightening thought. However, I do think I'll settle for losing fifteen or, better yet, twenty pounds or so and try to keep them off. Still, in the last four years I have been unsuccessful in loosing that weight. Maybe I haven't tried hard enough.

Okay, enough about me. I wanted to talk about Qsymia. If you decide to get a prescription for it, do keep in mind that it is a really potent drug with possible dangerous side effects so, you need to tell your physician if you are not responding well to the drug; you cannot keep taking it for the rest of your life to keep the weight off - it's not designed for that; and you will need to make some dietary changes to maximize the effects of the medication.

Qsymia is a combination of Topamax - the antiepilepsy drug, that has shown some promise in keeping the migraines under control and even helps with alcoholism, and Phentermine - a potent short-term appetite suppressant; think - medical-grade speed. Both medications have a long list of side effects; both medications need to be taken under a doctor's supervision. When combined together, they become a potent combination. There's really very little information available on Qsymia, however, the possible adverse effects of Phentermine and Topomax are well documented.

I've gathered together a collection of symptoms you should be on lookout for when taking Qsymia, derived from the info available on its components:

Phentermine Side Effects:

- feeling short of breath, even with mild exertion;
- chest pain, feeling like you might pass out;
- swelling in your ankles or feet;
- pounding heartbeats or fluttering in your chest;
- confusion or irritability, unusual thoughts or behavior;
- feelings of extreme happiness or sadness; or
- dangerously high blood pressure (severe headache, blurred vision, buzzing in your ears, anxiety, chest pain, shortness of breath, uneven heartbeats, seizure).
- feeling restless or hyperactive;
- headache, dizziness, tremors;
- sleep problems (insomnia);
- dry mouth or an unpleasant taste in your mouth;
- diarrhea or constipation, upset stomach; or
- increased or decreased interest in sex, impotence.

Topamax (Topiramate) Side Effects:

- sudden vision loss, pain around or behind your eyes;
- dry mouth, increased thirst, drowsiness, decreased sweating, increased body temperature, and hot, dry skin,
- confusion, slowed thinking, memory problems, trouble concentrating, problems with speech or balance;
- vomiting, loss of appetite, tired feeling, irregular heartbeats, feeling like you might pass out; or severe pain in your side or lower back, painful or difficult urination.
- mild dizziness, feeling nervous;
- numbness or tingly feeling;
- diarrhea, weight loss; or
- cold symptoms such as stuffy nose, sneezing, sore throat.

Also, for Topamax: Report these symptoms to your doctor immediately: mood or behavior changes, anxiety, panic attacks, trouble sleeping, or if you feel impulsive, irritable, agitated, hostile, aggressive, restless, hyperactive (mentally or physically), more depressed, or have thoughts about suicide or hurting yourself.

As you can see, this is some serious medicine. If you decide to take it, please keep these symptoms in mind.

Dr. Lipman also put together a drug interaction chapter in case you are already taking some other medications - do make sure to read it. He also describes how to get the most out of taking this drug - the understanding of your cravings, the most efficient diet to stay on while you are taking it, etc. If you are on Qsymia or are thinking about taking it - read this book first, it will really help.

UPDATE:

Dr. Lipman pointed out that the dosages of Topamax and Phentermine in Qsymia are much lower than in their stand-alone, typical applications. This will most definitely minimize the side effects that I've mentioned above; in addition, the mechanisms of action of both medications taken together might negate some of the side effects. He also pointed out that in his experience, while treating many patients, there were very few side effects and certainly nothing like the list in the review. Well, that is an excellent news. I usually tend to agree with professionals so, my thanks to Dr. Lipman for this info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comments (2)


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Top Dog in Weight Loss!!!, November 25, 2012
By 
Peggy A. Morin "The Self-Help Guru" (Shasta, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)  
This review is from: Qsymia Plan for Weight Loss: A Practical Guide To Using the New Diet Medication (Kindle Edition)
While Qsymia is the new top dog in weight loss medication there is so much more to it. Anyone who takes any kind of supplement for the purpose of losing weight will maximize their potential weight loss and health gain by simply understanding the full dynamics of the `drug'. In the case of Qsymia, there's no better source to give you all the information you need than Dr. Lipman's book the Qsymia Weight Loss Plan. It is all in this book. Naturally he is going to give you the information you need to determine if this drug is right for you in the first place, but he's also going to tell you the how's and why's of individualizing your plan of action, in other words how to take Qsymia in a way that actually works for you because, quite simply, we don't all have the same metabolism. This book provides a total food plan to go with it, including color glossy pictures. No, he doesn't plan your menu but rather he gives you the information you need to plan your own menu, one that works for you. He talks a lot about portion control, again with very helpful color glossies for easy reference. While science is taking the extreme agony of dieting out of the picture with wonder drugs such as Qysmia, a common sense approach is still necessary to gain the most bang for your buck. I love that this drug is all about reducing cravings and taming hunger but we are also creatures of habitual-type eating and Dr. Lipman addresses this with beautiful insight into human realities. If you are considering taking Qysmia for weight loss secondary to Metabolic Syndrome (fat around the middle), take this book with you and you will have the best offense and defense one could have on your own private team. Good luck, and thank you Dr. Lipman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment